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May 10, 1999 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Re: Computation of finance charges for revolving loan accounts 
 
Dear Ms. : 
 
 I write in response to your April 29, 1999 letter that inquired whether WV Code 
46A-3-106 allowed a creditor to use the daily balance method to compute finance charges 
for revolving loan accounts. 
 
 West Virginia Code 46A-3-106(3) establishes the loan finance charge for 
revolving loan accounts.  It sets a monthly rate of one and one-half percent (1½ %) on the 
first seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.) of unpaid principal balance and one percent (1%) 
on the unpaid principal balance exceeding seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.).  I point out 
that the WV Lending and Credit Rate Board, pursuant to its authority under WV Code 
47A-1-1(b), has established an alternative rate of one and one-half percent (1½%) on the 
entire unpaid principal balance of such accounts if the billing cycle is monthly.  I enclose 
a copy of the Board’s current Orders on interest rates, in effect since December 1, 1996. 
 
 Subsection (2) of WV Code 46A-3-106 establishes the possible methods of 
calculating the loan finance charge on a revolving loan account: 
 

(2)  A loan finance charge may be made in each billing cycle which is a 
percentage of an amount not exceeding the greatest of:  
 
(a) The average daily balance of the debt,  
 
(b) The balance of the debt at the beginning of the first day of the billing cycle, 
less all payments on and credits to such debt during such billing cycle and 
excluding all additional borrowings during such billing cycle, or  
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(c) The median amount within a specified range within which the average daily 
balance of the debt or the balance of the debt at the beginning of the first day of 
the billing cycle, less all payments on and credits to such debt during such billing 
cycle and excluding all additional borrowings during such billing cycle, is 
included. A charge may be made pursuant to this subdivision only if the lender, 
subject to classifications and differentiations he may reasonably establish, makes 
the same charge on all balances within the specified range and if the percentage 
when applied to the median amount within the range does not produce a charge 
exceeding the charge resulting from applying that percentage to the lowest 
amount within the range by more than eight percent of the charge on the median 
amount. (emphasis added) 

 
 I recognize that there are numerous methods of calculating interest on open-end 
credit, such as “actuarial average daily balance”, “straight average daily balance”, 
“modified average daily balance”, “ending balance”, “previous balance”, and “adjusted 
balance”.  Some versions are more favorable to consumers while others are more 
favorable to creditors since each version results in a different amount of interest charges 
on an account when applied to the same payment and charge activities over the same 
period of time. 
 
 You indicate that                       offers two computation methods of “average daily 
balance.”  This term is one of the allowed methods for computing finance charges in 
revolving loan accounts (WV Code 46A-3-106(2)(a), supra).  However the West Virginia 
Consumer Credit and Protection Act, at WV Code 46A-1-102(5),  provides a specific 
definition of that term which must be used to compute finance charges under that method: 
 

(5) "Average daily balance" in a billing cycle for which a sales finance charge or 
loan finance charge is made is the sum of the amount unpaid each day during that 
cycle divided by the number of days in that cycle. The amount unpaid on a day is 
determined by adding to the balance, if any, unpaid as of the beginning of that day 
all purchases and other debits and deducting all payments and other credits made 
or received as of that day. 

 
 A standard aid to statutory construction is “expressio unius est exclusio alterius.”  
In other words, the mention of a specific item or items in a statute implies that omitted 
items were not intended to be included within the scope of the statute.  We believe that 
the Legislature made a specific policy decision when choosing, out of the many options 
available, three possible methods of computing finance charges on revolving loan 
accounts.  This is further supported by the fact that the Legislature took care to provide a  
 
 
 
 



46A-3-106 
46A-1-102 
47A-1-1 

 

Page 3 of 3 
 
specific definition for one of those methods, the “average daily balance.”  Therefore we 
cannot agree that using a “daily balance” method of calculating finance charges for 
revolving loan accounts is acceptable under WV Code 46A-3-106. 
 
 I hope this letter answers your question.  If you need further information, please 
feel free to contact me. 
 
      Sincerely, 
 
 
      Robert J. Lamont 
      General Counsel 


